Requiem Aeternam

Buy from Vasari website


[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/122125143″ params=”color=548a56&auto_play=false&show_artwork=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Howells: Requiem/Frank Martin: Mass (Signum)

Recorded: All Hallows, Gospel Oak, London
February 1994 © 1994

Track list

Requiem (1935) – Herbert Howells

1. Salvator Mundi 
2. Psalm 23
3. Requiem aeternam (I)
4. Psalm 121
5. Requiem aeternam (II) 
6. I heard a voice from heaven 

Motet (1964) – Herbert Howells

7. Take him, earth, for cherishing 

Mass – Frank Martin

8. Kyrie eleison 
9. Gloria 
10. Credo 
11. Sanctus 
12. Agnus Dei

Album Reviews

“The Vasari Singers are astounding in Howells’ haunting Requiem.” Classic FM

“This is choral singing of a high order.” Gramophone

“…exquisite music, superbly performed and presented in excellent sound that is clear and atmospheric.” Classical Music Web

© Jeremy Backhouse